Page 1 of 1

How many variables can I create in PiCtory?

Posted: 20 Nov 2020, 07:03
by Elon Sha
Dear KUNBUS team,

I am using the core module as Modbus TCP Master to collect data from PLCs. I created ten Modbus TCP Master in the PiCtory and each Master connected with one PLC. So, I can use the core module to collect data from ten PLCs.

Then I created a new RAP file for the Modbus TCP Master. I created 1000 Input Word in the new RAP file. When I created only one Master(the new one I created) in the PiCtory, it worked well. However, when I add another Master(with 1000 Input Word), some errors occured.

I think the reason is that too many variables was ceated. So how many variables can I create in PiCtory?
屏幕截图 2020-11-20 134102.jpg
屏幕截图 2020-11-20 134102.jpg (216.42 KiB) Viewed 5554 times
屏幕截图 2020-11-20 134000.jpg
屏幕截图 2020-11-20 134000.jpg (54.06 KiB) Viewed 5554 times

Re: How many variables can I create in PiCtory?

Posted: 20 Nov 2020, 15:59
by dirk
Dear Elon Sha, the process image is limited to 4Kb of data. So indeed this could be a point in the right direction to the root cause of the error.
We'll try to reproduce the error with the attached rap file. Thank you for your patience.

Re: How many variables can I create in PiCtory?

Posted: 23 Nov 2020, 02:11
by Elon Sha
Hi Dirk,

I want to know if I can change this restriction? If so, will it have any impact?

Re: How many variables can I create in PiCtory?

Posted: 24 Nov 2020, 15:40
by dirk
Hi Elon, well we cannot speak from experiences here in case the process image would be resized. I just can point you to the next steps but you are on your own here.
Have a look at the GitHub repository picontrol:

Code: Select all

#define KB_PI_LEN       4096
// process image stuff
INT8U ai8uPI[KB_PI_LEN];