2x RevPi Core via PiBridge

Topics about the Software of Revolution Pi
mrwinter
Answers: 0

2x RevPi Core via PiBridge

Post by mrwinter »

Hi, I suppose this is a software question.

The idea is to isolate the cutomer network from the internet (LTE router), but still log data from it.

On the left side, you have the Edge device, connected to the cloud via LTE, on the right side, you have a data logger, communicating with the local network.

In between, there should be a restricted communications interface, such that,
a) someone who gains full access to the Edge cannot access the customer network and,
b) someone who gains full access to the data logger cannot access the cloud or credentials.

So why not connect two RevPi Cores with a PiBridge??
At least it would look tidy.

I have never used the PiBridge, but I notice it has and "Ethernet" interface via SPI on the RevPi Core.

What software is involved in the communication via PiBridge (I have never used this before)?
Is this "Ethernet" in the classical sense, that it could be used to bridge straight to the customer network?
If I had full access to the RevPi on one side of the bridge, could I use the PiBridge to connect into the RevPi on the other side of the bridge?

If I get desperate, another option could be to cut or drill out some pin connections leaving only RS485.

Thanks!
lukas
Expert

Re: 2x RevPi Core via PiBridge

Post by lukas »

Yes that is possible, there are some brief notes in the stretch 3/2019 release announcement (search for "PiBridge networking"). Basically you need to comment out piControl in /etc/modules, connect the two Cores with a PiBridge plug and boot them. They will assign themselves IP addresses in the APIPA range 169.254.0.0/16 and can ping each other. Please note that throughput is limited to about 1 or 2 MByte/s because the Ethernet chips are attached with SPI to the Raspberry Pi SoC, not via USB.
mrwinter

Post by mrwinter »

Hi lukas, thanks for the answer!