Page 1 of 1

Can I use multiple Modbus RTU masters to control one slave?

Posted: 28 May 2019, 12:38
by AyKay
I have two pressure controllers (Bronkhorst EL-Press) wired using Modbus RTU as slaves. I have configured a Virtual Modbus RTU Master in Pictory. My problem is that in order to control both slaves, I need to use more commands than the maximum 32 inputs that Pictory allows for coils and holding registers.
Can I use more than one Modbus RTU Master to control the slaves?

Re: Can I use multiple Modbus RTU masters to control one slave?

Posted: 29 May 2019, 12:37
by dirk
Hello AyKay, there is a Virtual Device in PiCtory called Modbus RTU Master 150 which has 150 registers. In general you may use more than one Modbus RTU master. But more than one master to one slave could lead to some collissions.

Re: Can I use multiple Modbus RTU masters to control one slave?

Posted: 05 Jun 2019, 16:41
by AyKay
Hallo Dirk. Thanks for your response. I followed your suggestion and used the RTU150 Master. Unfortunately, I am still encountering the 32 limitation (please see attached photo).
Extended_data.jpg
Extended_data.jpg (570.29 KiB) Viewed 793 times